OpenID, WordPress, and Highrise

20Mar07

Today I cruised over to Highrise, the new contact management app developed by the 37Signals guys. I went to create an account, and saw that they, too, are supporting OpenID authentication. I decided now was a good time to get my OpenID setup.

To setup OpenID, you have to decide a) what URI you want as your identifier, and b) what OpenID Provider (OP) you want to identify with. I’ve been trying to standardize my identity around joshuamclark.com for a while now, so that was the obvious choice for my URI. For my OP, I decided to use WordPress. I looked into setting up my own OpenID Provider at openid.joshuamclark.com, but I don’t have an SSL cert yet which I would want, and WordPress was quick and easy. Plus one of the benefits of OpenID is that you can migrate to a new OP very easily, so I can setup my own OP in the future. If any of you want to set up your own OP, there are some nice libraries available to speed you on your way.

Anyhoo, to get joshuamclark.com to work with WordPress, I just had to include a couple lines of code in my head tag:

<link rel="openid.server" href="https://joshuamclark.wordpress.com/?openidserver=1" />
<link rel="openid.delegate" href="https://joshuamclark.wordpress.com/" />

You can use your own URI as your OpenID identifier too — just copy those two lines in your head tag, making sure to replace ‘joshuamclark’ with your WordPress ID.

Anyhoo, once I setup the OpenID, I setup my Highrise account. It went flawlessly. My Highrise page asks for my OpenID, after entering it redirects to WordPress, I allow my identity to be passed once or always, and I’m adding contacts like a networking all-star. Read more about how OpenID works with WordPress.

